IELTS- International English Language Testing System

IELTS is the International English Language Testing System, the worlds proven English language test. All candidates must complete four Modules – Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking – to obtain a band score. All candidates take the same Listening and Speaking Modules, while the Reading and Writing Modules differ depending on whether the candidate is taking the Academic or General Training Versions of the Test.

Academic Institutions of Higher and Further Education

The Academic format is, broadly speaking, for those who want to study or train in an English-speaking university or Institutions of Higher and Further Education. Admission to undergraduate and postgraduate courses is based on the results of the Academic test.

General Training for school, work or migration

The General Training format focuses on basic survival skills in broad social and workplace contexts. It is typically for those who are going to English-speaking countries to do secondary education, work experience or training programs. People migrating to Australia, Canada and New Zealand must sit the General Training test.

It should be noted that certain professions require an Academic test result for registration and migration purposes.

Examination conducting bodies:

IDP Australia

British Council

For more information about IELTS, log on to

– The IELTS score is valid for 2 years from the date of exam.

– IELTS score is out of 9 Bands and each module consist of 9 Bands

– Examination Fees for IELTSĀ  – LKR 24,100/-.